Delaware, Pennsylvania, West Virginia added to Massachusetts high-risk travel list


Travelers to and from Delaware, Pennsylvania and West Virginia will now have to test negative for the coronavirus or quarantine when they arrive in Massachusetts.

The state Department of Public Health tweeted Friday that it was removing those three states from its low-risk travel list, effective Saturday, “due to increases in both positive test rates and cases per 100,000.”

All travelers to and from these states, including Massachusetts residents, must fill out the state’s travel form and quarantine for 14 days unless they produce a negative test result no more than 72 hours before their arrival in the Bay State.

But people going back and forth to New Mexico are now getting a reprieve — the Southwest state is being moved off the higher-risk list effective Saturday.

The majority of the Northeast states remain in the lower-risk category — except for Rhode Island, where travelers going to and from must quarantine unless crossing state lines for work, school or medical purposes.

Colorado, Oregon, Washington and Wyoming are also in the clear from the state’s travel restrictions.

Leave a Reply