GJA opens nomination for 2019 regional awards

Business Canada Health Science Tech UK World

Regina Benneh, GNA

Sunyani, Jan. 22,
GNA – The Bono, Bono East and Ahafo Regions Branch of the Ghana Journalist
Association on Monday opened nominations for its regional 2019 awards to
acknowledge and appreciate contributions of journalist and media institutions
towards the development of the three regions.

A press statement
signed by Mr. Larry Paa Kwesi Moses, the Regional Chairman, said the
Association would also honour personalities and institutions that have in
diverse ways contributed to the growth and development of the Association and
the media in general.

The statement said
the awards were opened to all the three regional GJA members and non-members
working in the Ghanaian media establishments and covers published works in both
the print and electronic media from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019.

It stated the award
categories included best journalist of the year, which was strictly for members
of the Association in good outstanding as at December 2019 and also for the
most promising journalist of the year.

Other categories are
health, political, education, child protection, sanitation and environment,
business and economics, agriculture, tourism and culture, disability, sports,
local governance, gender- based violence and unpaid work, climate change, best
morning show (English) and best morning show (Akan), it added.

The rest are
entertainment, crime and court reporting, rural reporting, mining, feature
reporting, investigative reporting, photo Journalism, social
protection/awareness, best radio station, best social programme on radio
(English and Akan) and best sports show.

It stated that
prospective award winners are to submit their entries to the Chairman of the
2019 Awards Committee in Sunyani by close of Friday, February 28, 2020.


Leave a Reply